Undergraduate, how to find research position

In summary, the conversation discusses how to find a research position as an undergraduate. It suggests asking professors at your own college and branching out to different fields. It also mentions that it is possible to get a research position during the regular school year and that doing research at your own school can lead to opportunities at other schools.
kougou
Hello guys

I am wondering how to find a research position as an undergraduate. Typically, only third year student will be able to find something "real" research job in the summer. Does this mean that it's not possible to do research or maybe assisting research during the regular school time? I am an engineering student in UBC

Physics news on Phys.org
Start at your own college. Ask your professors if they're willing to take you on, or know someone who might be willing. Don't restrict yourself just to the specific fields you're interested in; branch out. Many students manage to get research positions their first year; it's not impossible. And doing research at your own school your first year puts you in a much better position to get a position at another school the next year. It worked for me.

Related to Undergraduate, how to find research position

What is an undergraduate research position?

An undergraduate research position is an opportunity for undergraduate students to gain hands-on experience in conducting scientific research. It involves working under the guidance of a faculty member or a graduate student on a research project related to their field of study.

Why should I pursue an undergraduate research position?

Pursuing an undergraduate research position can provide valuable experience and skills that can enhance your academic and professional development. It can also help you stand out in graduate school or job applications, and provide networking opportunities with professionals in your field.

How do I find undergraduate research positions?