Two Questions: Transfer Functions and Capacitors

In summary, the conversation discusses two distinct questions related to circuit analysis and design. The first question is about the stability of transfer functions in the Laplace domain, specifically how poles in the left side of the s-plane indicate a stable transient response. The second question is about the purpose of capacitors placed near power pins in circuits, with some explanations including noise filtering and providing needed voltage during load. The summary also mentions the importance of decoupling capacitors for digital logic and their different role in analog or mixed-signal circuits.
Jessehk
Hi Everyone.

I actually had two distinct questions relating to circuit analysis and design. The first is theoretical and the second is a question about what I've observed on other circuits.

I'm reading some undergraduate EE books (I'm an EE student in Canada) and I've gotten to the point where transfer functions of circuits are discussed in the Laplace domain. In all the texts I've read it has been stated that if the poles (roots of the denominator) are in the left of the s-plane (i.e. the real parts are negative) then the transient response will be stable (that is, it goes to 0). I can show this by deriving the characteristic equation from the poles of a low- or high-pass filter and an LRC oscillator, but I can't immediately see that this is true for transfer functions with higher-degree denominators. In a similar vein (I think), is it possible to construct physically realizable circuits that have non-stable transient responses? What about the input function? Must the poles of an input function be on the right side of the s-plane? I'm in-between academic terms at the moment so I'm not able to conveniently ask a professor.