Time-dependent perturbation theory

In summary, Sakurai is discussing the problem of finding an energy eigenstate of a time-dependent perturbation. He states that we are not considering the system to be in an 'instantaneous eigenstate' of the full time-dependent Hamiltonian H(t). Instead, we are considering the time evolution of a general state ket |\Psi(t)\rangle under the full hamiltonian, but we expand the general ket in the complete orthonormal basis of eigenkets of the unperturbed ham
JK423
Gold Member
I'm studying Sakurai at the moment, time-dependent perturbation theory (TDPT). I'm having a problem in understanding a basic concept here.
According to Sakurai we have the following problem:
Let a system be described initially by a known hamiltonian H0, being in one of its eigenstates |i>. Then, a time-dependent perturbation (V) is added to the system, with the total hamiltonian now being H=H0+V. Now Sakurai asks, what is the probability of finding the system, at time t, in the energy eigenstate |n> of H0.

Here is where my problem is.. We have a system being described by a hamiltonian H (the total hamiltonian), also being in an eigenstate of H at time t, and we want to know in which eigenstate of another hamiltonian H0 the state of the system will collapse if we measure it! Can we do that? For example, if i have the electron of H1 at the ground state, am i able to expand this eigenstate to the basis of another hamiltonian -like the one of a harmonic oscillator- and then say that I am going to measure in which state (and in which energy) of the harmonic oscillator the electron of the hydrogen atom is going to be??

I must have been missing something very crucial here...

Physics news on Phys.org