Thereotical physics or computer science looking for guidance

In summary, a freshman in college is struggling to decide on a future career, with a passion for physics but concerns about job prospects and the amount of material to learn. They are considering cognitive science and artificial intelligence, and the possibility of transitioning into theoretical neuroscience after a physics PhD. The conversation also touches on the uncertainty of job prospects and the need to figure out one's own path with a physics degree.
feuxfollets
I'm a freshman in college right now and I'm still unable to decide what I want to do in the future...

I think physics is my true passion, and I came into college wanting to do that. But I've been really discouraged by all the stories of physics people being unable to find jobs (and I don't want to end up on wall street), as well as by the sheer amount of material that I need to learn before I can start working on new stuff. I'm not opposed to learning but I just get the feeling that there isn't any place for theoretical physicists anymore, and I don't want to spend all that time only to end up jobless.

What are the prospects for me to get a position in theory? Obviously I'm not expecting an exact answer, but is it even feasible for someone starting out now? I've heard that there's over 300 people who apply to each open position, all of whom are probably really good at what they're doing. I'd say I'm decent at math, I've done lots of math competitions in high school and qualified for usamo, and I did really well in my honors physics and calculus classes last semester. But I don't know if that means anything in the grand scheme of things...