Studying? (average value, work)

In summary: The work required to pull a cable to the top of a tall building can be calculated using the formula W = mgh, where m is the mass of the cable, g is the acceleration due to gravity, and h is the height of the building.c.)To find the hydrostatic force against a semicircular gate, we can use the formula F = \rho g h A, where \rho is the density of water, g is the acceleration due to gravity, h is the height of the water, and A is the area of the gate.d.)The volume of a solid generated by revolving a region around the y-axis can be calculated using the formula V = \pi \int_a^b
thename1000
I'm studying for a test and it would be great if i could get step by step how to do this problem:

a.) Find the average value of the function on the interval x=1 to x=10 for f(x)=3/(1+x)^2

b.) A uniform cable hanging over the edge of a tall building is 40 ft long and weighs 50 lb. How much work is required to pull the cable to the top?

c.) A vertical dam has a semicircular gate as shown in the figure below(http://img223.imageshack.us/my.php?image=newwt5.jpg), The density of water is 9800 Newtons per cubic meter. Find the hydrostatic force against the gate.

d.) Find the volume of the solid generated by revolving about the y-axis the region bounded by the x-axis and y=3x-x^3 from x=0 to x=5 (http://img223.imageshack.us/my.php?image=newwt5.jpg)

e.) For the lamina of density P formed by the region bounded by y=3sqrt(x) {NOT 3 times sqrt x} and the x-axis from x=0 to x=8, find the y coordinate of the centroid. (http://img223.imageshack.us/my.php?image=newwt5.jpg)

I don't need the final answers, but enough so that I can follow what your doing. (If you only know how to do one of these that'd be fine!) Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
a.)
The average value of a function between intervals [tex][a,b][/tex] is defined as:
[tex]\frac{1}{b-a} \int_a^b f(x)\,dx [/tex]

and just in case:
[tex]\int kx^n\,{\rm d}x = k\frac{x^{n+1}}{n+1} + C[/tex] and