Struggling to decide on a 4th subject in a physics major

In summary, a first-year student in a Bsc program in Australia is planning on majoring in physics and human geography. They are currently trying to decide on their subjects for the second semester and are considering options such as computational science, chemistry, history and philosophy of science, and political science. They are wondering if choosing a subject purely for enjoyment would be a worse option compared to a more useful subject. Some advice is given to treat the course catalog as an "all you can eat" buffet and to think about future goals and interests when selecting courses. Attending the first lecture of each course may also help in making a decision.
TheBoro76
Hello everyone,
I'm in my first year of a Bsc in Australia and am currently planning on majoring in physics and human geography (it is a strange combination I know). I have to pick my subjects forsecond semester and am faced with a dilemma. Currently I have chosen maths, geography and physics, but I have to chose one more subject. At the moment I tossing up between: computational science (in MATLAB and C+), chemistry (which I did last semester but didn't love), the history and philosophy of science or a political science subject (which, realistically, would be just for fun).

My question is fairly broad, but essentially does anyone think that one of these subjects stands out as the best option? If I were to pick a subject purely out of enjoyment would that be a much worse than choosing a more useful subject?

Thanks in advance

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't think it hurts to pick a fun subject in first year, really. How are you with programming? You'll have to do at least a bit of it in your physics major, and it doesn't hurt to take a course or two in computer science (especially if they're physics-appropriate languages like Matlab and C++).

Hi. Thanks for you reply!