Start Learning Physics: Books and Online Courses Recommended

In summary, the conversation is about a 7th grade student who wants to start learning physics on their own. They ask for recommendations on books and online courses, and their level of math is discussed. A book by Paul Hewitt is suggested, but it is mentioned that it may be too advanced for the student's current level. The importance of having a good understanding of algebra and trigonometry is emphasized, and it is suggested to use resources like Khan Academy to improve math skills before diving into physics.
Titas
Hey everyone, I am in 7th grade right now and I started learning physics in my school. I've become really interested in it and I have only one lesson in a week so I want to start learning it by myself.. So how should I start? Which books and online courses would you recommend ?

Physics news on Phys.org
What is your level of math?

In trimesters I get only 10.

My recommendation is that you go to khanacademy.org and get your math level up, and then start learning some physics from there.
I'm not sure on "proper" books you should get yet, since you're in 7th grade, because most physics books, that I've seen, rely on math.

I strongly recommend Conceptual Physics by Paul Hewitt. It hardly uses any math.

Likes CalcNerd
Hewitt's book is written for people about four more years along than the OP.

MugiwaraNoSanji said:
What is your level of math?
Titas said:
In trimesters I get only 10.

I think he means, what topics in math have you studied: algebra? trigonometry? calculus? or what?

Vanadium 50 said:
Hewitt's book is written for people about four more years along than the OP.
Yeah, you're right.
I shouldn't have recommended that book.
I recommended it because I think that an intelligent student in middle school should be able to understand Hewitt's textbook.

Last edited: