Spherical Harmonics: Degree l & Order m Structure & Variation

In summary, the structure of a spherical harmonic is determined by its degree l and order m, with l characterizing the functional dependence on polar angles and m characterizing the dependence on azimuthal angles. The first three coefficients, also known as Gaussian coefficients, play a role in the variation of structure within a particular degree l. Manipulating l and m can affect the structure of the harmonic, and using a program such as Hummingbird Exceed/Open Exceed can display these changes. Gaussian coefficients are often used as a basis for spherical harmonics in addition to the more commonly used exponential basis.
henrybrent
I am studying the Earths main magnetic field (internal, specifically the stuff at the Core-Mantle boundary) which has led me to spherical harmonics. I am curious... how is the structure of a spherical harmonic determined by its degree l and order m? What role do the first three coefficients have (are they known as Gaussian Coefficients?) , and the variation in structure within a particular degree l.

I have these questions as I have been playing around with a model of the magnetic field, changing these coefficients but I am at a loss and see no pattern occurring, however, this question applies just to spherical harmonics in general so I can gauge a more overall understanding.

Physics news on Phys.org
Spherical harmonics usually arise when there is a spherical symmetry in the system, or when the system will become easier to describe if spherical coordinate were used.
henrybrent said:
how is the structure of a spherical harmonic determined by its degree l and order m?