Second Year Physics Student Seeking Advice on Math Courses

In summary, a second year physics student at a large research university in Ontario is currently taking several math courses and is planning on taking another one next semester. Their options for a third year math course include number theory, game theory, group theory, and abstract algebra. They are considering real analysis, lin alg 2, or complex variables, but are facing scheduling conflicts. They are also unsure if they want to pursue a math minor, but are enrolled in a computer science course for next semester. Other students advise against taking abstract algebra, stating that it may not be directly applicable to physics but could have some connections, especially in areas such as non-commutative geometry and Lie groups. However, others argue that abstract algebra may not be useful for a
codymcleod
Hello everyone. I am a second year physics student at a large research university in Ontario. The math courses required for my degree are Calc 1,2,3 and vector calc, linear algebra, ODEs and PDEs. I have taken linear algebra, calc 1-2 and stats (not required) and am currently taking calc 3, ODEs and discrete math (not required). I am really enjoying my discrete math course and am planning on taking another math course next semester as well. My options are number theory, game theory, group theory and abstract algebra (all third year courses but I have the pre reqs for each). I would like to take either real analysis, lin alg 2 or complex variables but real analysis 1 and complex variables are only offered in the first term and lin alg 2 interferes with a mandatory physics course. I was considering abstract algebra, as it seems to have the biggest application to physics out of all of the options, but game theory and number theory sound very interesting as well. I am not specifically trying to get another major/minor but I feel that I will end up getting a math minor just by taking so many math/comp sci/applie