Sakurai as a first course in QM

In summary, the conversation is about a junior undergraduate considering doing an independent study with Sakurai's book instead of taking the introductory quantum mechanics course. They have already had some exposure to quantum mechanics and are having no difficulty understanding Sakurai's book. However, there are concerns about the difficulty of the book and the possibility of missing important concepts. It is advised to not judge the entire book based on just the first few chapters and to consider taking a graduate level quantum mechanics course if available. The undergrad books may be good for introducing basic concepts, but Sakurai's book may provide a better understanding of quantum mechanics.
capandbells
I'm a junior undergraduate who has yet to take quantum mechanics, although I did have a brief introduction to basic wave mechanics (square well, harmonic oscillator, tunneling, the hydrogen atom, etc.) in "modern physics" course. I've also watched and taken notes from the Quantum Mechanics lectures from Oxford that have been posted on iTunes, and found I understood them reasonably well. I checked Sakurai's book out from the library and have been going through the first two chapters, and I am having no difficulty in understanding it.
I am considering asking my department if I could do an independent study with Sakurai's book in lieu of the introductory quantum mechanics course, which I think uses Griffiths or Liboff. Does this seem like a reasonable idea? Would I be missing anything terribly important? Should I just bite the bullet and take the other course?

Physics news on Phys.org
capandbells said:
I am considering asking my department if I could do an independent study with Sakurai's book in lieu of the introductory quantum mechanics course, which I think uses Griffiths or Liboff.