Recommended Undergraduate Courses for Medical Physics

In summary, the speaker is a 2nd year physics student who was originally planning on going to graduate school for condensed matter physics, but has since become interested in medical physics. They have already discussed this with their advisor and friends in the medical physics program at their university, but are seeking additional information on courses that would be helpful for preparing for graduate school in medical physics. Some courses that they have researched and found to be useful include mathematical methods for physics, senior lab, electronics, senior E&M, numerical methods or computational physics, first year biology, first year chemistry, organic chemistry, statistics, anatomy and physiology, image or signal processing, and nuclear physics. However, the speaker notes that a strong physics background is generally sufficient and the specific
grantwilliams
Hi guys, I'm a 2nd year physics student at uni and until recently i was planning on going to graduate school for condensed matter physics, but i realized I'm most interested in medical physics. What courses would those of you who are in medical physics recommend to prep me for grad school? I'll be taking all of the physics courses for a standard physics degree and i dropped my math double major to make more room for bio/chem courses. I'm planning on concentrating on nuclear, quantum, and optics courses for my high level physics courses and I am also going to be taking organic chem I (but not II), physiology, and microbiology. Are there any courses that you would recommend I take other than those?

I have googled around for help, but because all of the medical physics graduate courses differ so much in terms of prereqs, i thought i might ask on here. I have already talked to my adviser and some friends in the medical physics program at my uni, but i figured the more information the better!

Thanks for all the help!
Grant

Physics news on Phys.org