Quantum mechanics textbook?

• Thread starter jqmhelios
  • Start date
jqmhelios
TL;DR Summary: Lectures of critically inadequate quality have resulted in a total lack of understanding of the subject. Several 'famous' textbooks have made the situation worse

I am a student in year 2 physics.
This past academic year, I had a lecturer who effectively plagiarised a textbook when lecturing- all I was doing was writing a textbook out. Now, I am sitting with a lecture notebook full of nonstop derivations and zero worked examples, and as such have no clue what to revise, where to revise, how to revise, etc.

I need a textbook which will:
a) Help me learn quantum mechanics
b) Not be derivation heavy.

I won't even attempt to learn any derivations. I could (I did drama so memorising many pages is no problem for me), but it goes against my ethics in which I try to understand, not memorise.

The following textbooks I do not regard as good or adequate, which did not help and have only caused distress in me because they are addressed at a level too high above my own:

1) A. Rae 'Quantum mechanics' is not good enough (this is the worst out of the 3 because it is 99% derivations and 1% actual worked examples, and to make matters worse this is the only one with material similar to what was done in lectures)

2) D. Griffiths is not good enough

3) Landau is not good enough

Help.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Have you tried Quantum Mechanics by Cohen-Tannoudji? it is a good reference in Europe and contains everything you'll ever need. Some heavy derivations are nicely put in chapter "complements" that can be skipped or read at your own will.

Edit: The reference also for worked examples are Walter Greiner's books. There is one on introduction to quantum mechanics, which I have not particularly read. Beware some people hate the Greiners for being "lazy" written, some love them, it is up to you.