Pondering My Future: Math or Computer Science?

In summary, the speaker is a 4th year physics student in a European Credit System, finishing their M1 degree. They wish to continue their studies in Subatomic-Particle Physics, but due to a complex reason, they have to take a year off before continuing with their M2 degree and PhD. The speaker was initially planning to do something with this year, possibly studying something related to physics. However, they are now considering studying math or computer science at a university for this one year. They are unsure which to choose, as both fields are important in physics. They have also considered taking time off from school before pursuing their PhD. However, they are concerned that taking a break may negatively impact their application. If they choose to study
ziad1985
I'm a 4th year physics student, I'm in a European Credit System ( Finishing my M1 degree ).
Wishing to continue my studies in Subatomic-Particle Physics, for some complex reason ( will take time to explain ) I have to stop one year before continuing my studies in physics ( to get my M2 degree then my PhD ), so I have one year free for me.
I was planning to do something with this year...
Going to study some stuff concerning this field of physics...
But I was thinking of going to university for this one year to study something other then physics, like math of computer science.
what should I chose ? math or computer science?
I know the importance of each of these 2 in physics, but I can't decide...
or there is something else you advice??

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Mathematics would help you immensely in grad school. Computer science has many practical applications in the real world. Either of which would be really good to study... However, most computer science courses are really a self-taught, learn from the book ordeal.