Picking Undergrad - Guidance Needed

In summary, the conversation is about a grade 12 student who is interested in pursuing a career in theoretical physics. They are unsure of the best route to take and are considering applying to three schools: Waterloo, Western, and McGill. They are looking for advice on course and program selection, and whether a math or physics major would be more beneficial for graduate studies in theoretical physics. The expert advises that the choice of undergraduate university is not significant, but recommends looking into joint programs and checking online reviews of professors. They also mention that most universities have physics/math combined programs, with Waterloo offering a specialization in mathematical physics.
mattsmart
Hi, I'm a grade 12 student at a Canadian High School, and I am interested in pursuing a career in theoretical physics (research/prof). I'm just not sure how to go about it. The problem is that the teachers/faculty at my school are useless, and university websites aren't really informative.

I plan on applying to three schools:

Waterloo
Western
McGill

My grades should be sufficient for any program, but because of that, all the choice is leaving me a little confused. Which program at which of these school would best prepare me for graduate studies in theoretical physics? I also want to acquire some transferable skills, such as programming courses or perhaps extra math courses. Also which route is best to take for someone planning to study theoretical physics in graduate school: a bachelors of math degree with a physics major, or the reverse? I've heard that the math frequently becomes more important than the physics, but I am more mathematically inclined, so I don't know what which route to take. Will grad schools accept either?

Any advice or guidance at all would be deeply appreciated!

Physics news on Phys.org