Picking a concentration in grad school. .

In summary, the person is a math and physics graduate starting grad school soon. They are interested in the applications of math in physics and have a strong interest in general relativity. However, they are unsure if they can motivate themselves to do PDE-heavy work. They also enjoy abstract algebra but are concerned about its limited physical applications. They are conflicted between pursuing something that is mathematically stimulating but not as applicable to physics, or something that is less interesting but more relevant to physics. They are also considering a career in academia and are interested in the field of mathematical origami.
BHarvs7
Hey all, I'm a math and physics graduate who will be starting math grad school in a little over a month, and, though I know I have time to decide, I'm a bit conflicted about what to concentrate in.

I'm broadly interested in the applications of math in physics. Specifically, I've always had quite a penchant for general relativity, and there are still a number of open mathematical problems in that field. It would seem like a natural fit for me to pursue research in mathematical relativity, but the thing is . . . I'm not sure that I'm all that interested in PDEs/analysis, which is ultimately what the subject boils down to. I realize it's not as if all analysts do is grind out solutions to PDEs; there's a lot of manifold theory and geometric concepts to learn that would interest me. But at the end of the day, I'm just not sure that I can motivate myself to develop solution methods for PDEs, even though I'd be fascinated by the physics they reveal.