Physics Self-Study: Tips for Upper Classmen

In summary, the speaker, a physics student, plans on studying their textbooks over the summer. Their plan includes completing a total of 440 end-of-chapter problems from their University Physics textbook, as well as 5 problems from each chapter of their upper level physics textbooks. They express concern about their problem-solving skills and seek recommendations for improvement. However, it is suggested that focusing on one area may be more effective in developing problem-solving skills that can be applied to other areas.
CmSmith
I am a physics student going into my 3rd year this fall. Over the summer I want to go through my textbooks and study them. My plan is the following
  • University Physics (Young and Freedman): The first 10 odd end-of-chapter problems from every chapter (440 problems total)
  • Then do the first 5 even or odd (whichever I have solutions to) in every chapter of all of my upper level physics textbooks (Classical Mechanics, Thermo, Modern, Quantum, and E&M). I have 6 books to go through, but intend on getting another E&M and maybe Optics
I have a pretty good feeling this list is unrealistic, but my goal this summer is to get better at solving problems. Concepts I do not have too much difficulty grasping, but when handed a problem I have a very hard time figuring out even the first step. I feel like I struggle too much with problems and I cannot compare to fellow classmates because Chegg has become all the rage. Are there any recommendations for upper classmen to get better at problem solving over the summer? Thank you so much!

Physics news on Phys.org
I seriously doubt that you will be able to cover all of that in a single summer. I might be more inclined to suggest you focus mostly on one area, at least as a start. Problem solving skill gained in one area should have a significant carry-over to other areas.

Likes CmSmith
Dr.D said: