Physics GRE Q: 3D Harmonic Oscillator & Thermal Equilibrium

In summary, the question is about a three-dimensional harmonic oscillator in thermal equilibrium with a temperature reservoir at temperature T. The average total energy of the oscillator can be calculated using the Equipartition Theorem, which states that there is a kt/2 contribution to the energy from each degree of quadratic freedom in the Hamiltonian. The correct answer is D, or 3kT, and the expression for the Hamiltonian for any n-dimensional 1-particle system is <E> = skT.
daveyman
I'm studying for the Physics GRE and I came across this question. The correct answer is D, but I'm not sure quite how to do it. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

A three-dimensional harmonic oscillator is in thermal equilibrium with a temperature reservoir at temperature T. The average total energy of the oscillator is

(A) (1/2)kT
(B) kT
(C) (3/2)kT
(D) 3kT
(E) 6kT

Physics news on Phys.org
You need to show work in order to get help here. What have you tried so far? What concepts, etc. apply? What are your thoughts?

Last edited:
I'm really not sure where to start. I guess I'll just post this in a different part of the forum then.

I'm studying for the Physics GRE and I came across this question. The correct answer is D, but I'm not sure quite how to do it. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

A three-dimensional harmonic oscillator is in thermal equilibrium with a temperature reservoir at temperature T. The average total energy of the oscillator is

(A) (1/2)kT
(B) kT
(C) (3/2)kT
(D) 3kT
(E) 6kT

Well the equipartition theorem says that each Degree Of Freedom = 1/2KT. Can you think of why there would be 6 DOF?

That's exactly what I was thinking. It seems like the problem basically states that there are 3 degrees of freedom, which would yield an answer of (3/2)kT. However, the answer guide clearly says that the answer is 6kT (this is from an official GRE practice test).