Physics GRE Prep - Mechanical Engineering Student | Book Guide

In summary, the conversation is about a Mechanical Engineering student who has four months to prepare for the physics GRE and is seeking advice on how to study for it. The conversation also touches on the importance of having a broad collection of physics courses and being ready for both the Physics and Verbal GRE. No single book is recommended for the preparation and the student's struggle with basic concepts is mentioned as a potential hurdle in doing well on the exam.
Gurasees
I am a Mechanical Engineering student. I have four months to prepare for physics GRE. How should I study for it? Which book is most preferred ?

Physics news on Phys.org
Are you a graduating senior? Have you take a broad collection of physics courses, well beyond what is normal for MEs? If either of these is not true, I'd have to ask why you think you might pass the physics GRE. No single book is going to get you there.

Your first question here was "Why ain't momentum conserved when external force acts on the system?"

That tells me two things:
  • You aren't ready for the Physics GRE.
  • You aren't ready for the Verbal GRE.
I don't see how you will do well given the time available.

Likes Dr. Courtney
Vanadium 50 said:
Your first question here was "Why ain't momentum conserved when external force acts on the system?"

That tells me two things:
  • You aren't ready for the Physics GRE.
  • You aren't ready for the Verbal GRE.
I don't see how you will do well given the time available.
Well i like to think a little deep. So sometimes i get stuck thinking about the basic concepts and i don't understand what's the problem with the verbal here?:sorry:

Gurasees said:
Well i like to think a little deep.

That's not the impression you left in that thread. Or the other threads. The impression you give is someone struggling with freshman mechanics.

And "I" is capitalized, "ain't" is not a word and your second sentence is a run-on.