Physics degree for engineering

In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of degree choices and the potential effects they may have in the fields of physics and engineering. The speaker is a high school student interested in pursuing a career in aerospace and is considering a 4-1 program for physics and a 3-2 program for engineering. The conversation also touches upon the idea of combining a physics degree with an engineering degree, as well as the possibility of pursuing a minor in engineering. Some participants in the conversation believe that a physics degree may not be enough for a successful career in engineering, while others argue that it is possible to transfer skills and gain relevant experience through courses and trainings. Overall, the conversation highlights the importance of carefully considering degree choices and their potential impact on future career
Megasundato
Hello. I'm currently a high school student interested in the field of physics/engineering. My thesis for this thread is a question about degree choices and the effects of them. It appears to me that the university I plan to go to is better fit for a physics degree than and engineering degree. As it stands, there is a 4-1 year program for physics( four years for BS at the university and one year at another for an MS) and a 3-2 year program for engineering( 3 year for physics BS and 2 for engineering BS)

My question is practically which is the better choice. In my mind, I see that one with a MS in physics could easily jump into engineering with a few years training, so the former option is my first response; though, I'm not sure if it is the wisest choice.

Does anyone have experience with this type of scenario? How rational is it for one with an MS in physics to go into engineering without having initially majored in it? What would it require? Are there any previous threads to help answer this?

Thanks for reading. I will appreciate any reply.

Engineering news on Phys.org