Paying for school (Physics scholarships)

In summary: You can also check out the websites of the National Association of College and University Business Officers (NACUBO) or the National Science Foundation (NSF) for more information. In summary, if you are a physics major and are looking for scholarships, it's important to research the available options and to begin the application process as early as possible. There are many scholarships available for students in all majors, and it's important to do your research to find the best possible option for you.
circulos meos
Hello, I'm a first year student in pursuit of a physics degree and I'm just beginning to learn the hardships of paying out of pocket for college (and my school is relatively cheap, only about $9,000 a year before student loans.) But basically, I'm paying about $650 a month out of pocket by myself to get through school, which is quite difficult being that I only make about 800 a month on average. So it's no surprise that I've recently become very interested in looking for potential scholarships for school and I've heard some pretty crazy stories about what people can get scholarships for. That being said, I'm not entirely sure how true that is. I do know that physics is quite a rare major, at least where I'm from (produces about 7-12 undergrads a year at my university) and I was beginning to think that perhaps there was some kind of scholarships exclusive to physics majors that I could potentially look into. I was also just wondering about scholarships in general and was hoping I could have someone a bit more knowledgeable on the subject matter sort of guide me in the right direction in my search. Thanks in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org