Olympiads or Science Fairs: What Will Help Me Get Into Top US Schools?

In summary, the speaker is a high school student in India who has completed grade 10 and is looking to attend a top university in the US such as MIT, CalTech, or Harvard. They are considering participating in olympiads or science fairs to enhance their chances of getting into these schools. They are seeking guidance and wondering if being a Google/Intel science fair finalist would be more advantageous than winning an olympiad gold medal. The discussion also touches on the speaker's concerns about their own abilities and the importance of a holistic approach in college admissions.
cooleinstein
I am a high school student in India . I finished grade 10 this year . I have completed phyiscs upto the level of RESNICK HALLIDAY , i learned all high school mathematics and Single variable calculus . I want to go to US for college . So i want to get into schools like MIT/CalTech/harvard etc . But as these schools are very selective one needs to be highly accomplished to get into these schools .

I want to do something more than school stuff so i want to participate in olympiads or science fairs .

So i want to know which candidate will have a better chance of getting in , one with a olympiad gold or someone who is a GOOGLE/INTEL science fair finalist .

So give me some guidance​

Physics news on Phys.org
I feel as though it's less competitive to be an Intel/Siemens finalist than it is to win an olympiad gold medal. Though the question is, are you sure that you can do either? And why can't you pursue both options?

By the way, I got less than a gold medal at IPhO, and I still got into every college to which I applied. College admissions are holistic.

Yeah thanks man...anyone has any other opinion on this...please help

Related to Olympiads or Science Fairs: What Will Help Me Get Into Top US Schools?

What are the benefits of participating in Olympiads or Science Fairs?