Nicole: Pursuing an Astrophysics PhD

In summary, Nicole is pursuing a PhD in astrophysics, driven by her fascination with the mysteries of the universe and her desire to contribute to scientific research. She has a strong background in physics and mathematics, and has already made significant contributions to the field through her undergraduate research. With her determination and passion, Nicole is well on her way to becoming a leading astrophysicist and making groundbreaking discoveries in the field.
nmb
Hi, I am a new user :oldbiggrin:

My name is Nicole and I am interested in the astrophysics PhD program. I have a bachelor's degree in biology (final GPA 3.68) and I'm currently doing my masters degree in biotechnology in Puerto Rico. I don't have research experience so far, but I have recently been given the opportunity to conduct one with undergraduate students and we are very excited to say we wish to take the steps necessary to publish, with the help of our department.

Having previously been interested in medicine, most of my elective classes during my bs were health related, for example cellular physiology and embryology. I also have laboratory experience as voluntary work, where I have gained useful tools, such as knowledge working with inventory and the proper use of certain equipment. I also took required math courses up until calculus I (all A's)

I realize being a biotechnology student, that my field experience may not be beneficial for a program in astrophysics, however, I consider myself a fast learner and, if required, could study any given topic in my own time at home.