Need some advice about graduate studies in nonlinear dynamics

In summary, the person is interested in studying nonlinear dynamics and is unsure which subject to study. They believe that if they only have time to study one subject, dynamics would be the better choice.
kanima
First off, though I've been reading through these forums for a while now, this is my first post here, so let me briefly introduce myself.

I'm finishing up my third year as an undergraduate in mathematics. Next year, I want to apply to grad school in math, specifically, I'd like to study nonlinear dynamics. While my major is currently pure math, my interests have shifted towards applied mathematics in the past year, so I'd especially like to study dynamics from an applied perspective.

In preparation for that, I've undertaken to self-study at least one subject this coming summer. I'm trying to decide which of the following two subjects would be more important for me: nonlinear dynamics (with Strogatz), or algebraic topology (Hatcher has been recommended to me).

Now you're probably thinking nonlinear dynamics seems like the obvious answer, but let me say some more.

Unfortunately, I won't actually be able to study dynamical systems until the second semester of next school year. The reason for this is that the course is only offered every two years, and in my second year, which is the last time it was offered, I was inadequately prepared for the subject. Although I would mention in my grad school application that I planned on taking the class, I think it might look bad that I hadn't had any real experience with the subject by the time I'd be applying.