Need career guidance in cosmology

In summary: Waiting for response.Thanks,DeekshaIn summary, Deeksha is a computer science engineering graduate who has always been interested in cosmology. Despite trying to resist her urge, she is now determined to pursue a career in it. She is seeking advice on which university and program would be best for her at this stage. Chalnoth suggests two options: attaching herself to a cosmology research project or pursuing a graduate degree in physics. He also recommends preparing for the GRE, particularly the subject test for physics. Deeksha plans to work on her preparation and is eagerly waiting for further guidance.
deeksha
Hi All,

I am a computer science engineering graduate , currently working in software company. I am very much interested in cosmology since my childhood. I tried putting off my urge to choose cosmology as my career for a very long time. But I can't do that anymore. So can anyone suggest me some good university where I can learn about cosmology and also which course/ programme would be better at this stage?

Eagerly waiting for response.

Thanks,
Deeksha

Physics news on Phys.org
deeksha said:
Hi All,

I am a computer science engineering graduate , currently working in software company. I am very much interested in cosmology since my childhood. I tried putting off my urge to choose cosmology as my career for a very long time. But I can't do that anymore. So can anyone suggest me some good university where I can learn about cosmology and also which course/ programme would be better at this stage?

Eagerly waiting for response.

Thanks,
Deeksha
Well, coming from a computer science background as opposed to a physics background may make things a little difficult, but definitely not impossible. I can see two sorts of ways to get into this: