Need advice on school for physics

In summary, the individual is a college student who is considering transferring from Clemson to College of Charleston for non-academic reasons. They are concerned about the strength of CofC's physics program compared to Clemson's and are also considering trying to get into Clemson's mechanical engineering program instead. They are seeking advice on the potential transfer and the relevance of a physics degree for an architecture master's program.
memeeef
Hello! I'm a college student entering my second year. Last year I studied at Clemson. I'm somewhat set on getting a physics bachelors and then an architecture masters. This is a tentative plan made because of what I want to learn and not because I know it will get me a good job (I don't know much about the job market)
The issue here is this: I want to transfer to College of Charleston (for non-academic reasons), but I don't know if I'm making a huge mistake academically -- I haven't found any reputable source comparing the two schools' physics programs.
If anyone could give me a comparison of the two (are they in the same ballpark? Is CofC's program a joke?) that would be very helpful!
OH also: I might try to get into Clemson's mechanical engineering major (because it seems more relevant to architecture and sounds more employable).
Tldr want to transfer to CofC but don't want to go to a school with a wayyy weaker Phys program.
Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Just the act of transferring without a good reason will be suspect on your resume ie something you'll have to explain. Also you may lose credits in the transfer especially if the new school is more highly rated.

I would hope it's not because of a relationship issue that is almost always a bad idea to transfer unless you're married.

memeeef said: