Math GRE Practice Exams: Is this all there is?

In summary: I'm not prepared for that.In summary, the practice exams may be easier than the actual GRE, but they are not an accurate representation of the real exam. Taking the Math GRE may not be necessary, depending on your score on the practice exams. If you scored in the 99th percentile, you should take the GRE regardless.
Kindayr
I've been doing practice exams today for fun (I'm only in 3rd year, go to school in Canada, and have no real intent on going to graduate school in the USA; so there really isn't a reason to be practicing them considering I don't think I'm going to be required to take them). Each time giving myself 170 Minutes to complete all of the questions given.

And I'm wondering if these practice exams are up to par to what the actual exam is like?

I don't mean to sound cocky or conceited, but is this really all that is being asked if you are taking the Math GRE?

I've done 2 today that I've found and got in the 98th percentile on the first and 99th on the second (my girlfriend marked them for me).

the two being http://www.ets.org/Media/Tests/GRE/pdf/gre_0809_math_practice_book.pdf" .

I wasn't going to take it because I wasn't required to, but now I am considering it to maybe cushion my grad school applications next year.

Note that I'm not saying they are easy, and under a much more high-pressure situation of actually taking it I wouldn't expect to get the same marks.

I'm just in a confused state because I have heard horror stories over the Physics GRE and Mathematics GRE and can recall many TAs warning of the difficulty of the tests.

Should I think about taking them now, even though I'm in no way required to?

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Why don't you try marking them yourself? I would be very very surprised if you actually did that well.

I don't doubt my girlfriend's capability to mark a scantron sheet, even if she is in business :-p