Major choice - very confused,

In summary, the speaker is a third-year Engineering and Science student who is unsure about their career path. They are currently studying chemistry but are more interested in the physical aspects of the subject. They have also been reading physics and math textbooks and considering switching to a physics major. However, they are unsure if their university will allow them to switch and they are also considering pure or applied math. They are seeking advice on which path to choose between pure/applied math, physics, or engineering.
chipsandwich
Hello physicsforums, I'm currently an Engineering and Science student (3rd year at university), currently having doubts about just what I want to do with myself.

I'm currently studying chemistry, but have really only been making sense of the physical stuff. I got into QM, didn't like organic or inorganic too much. Chem courses don't really go into too much effort to really prove everything, which I wasn't really fond of. I've also found myself reading some physics and maths textbooks (QM, analysis, abstract algebra) and looking into the sorts of research that go on into those areas.

Basically, given that I liked physical chem, engineering and knowing stuff about maths, maybe I really should be doing physics. As far as unit requirements go, I really wouldn't have room to do anything else, and I'm not sure if my university would even let me do it considering my already completed credit. At the same time, I sort of doubt whether I really care about engineering. It has its good days and it has its bad days, you know? Sure, it's an easy path to a job, but I guess I've gotten a little too attached to science over the past couple of years. If I dropped eng. my first thought would be to double major in chem and phys and never look back - while I do find chem easy or trivial at times, it's still nice to be in the lab and do projects.