Looking for a career change, unsure on how to proceed

In summary, if you want to work in the astrophysics field, you should get a degree in physics and then specialize in astrophysics later. You may be able to take night classes to get your undergrad, but you'll most likely need to do further schooling if you want to continue on to grad school.
dbush2765
So I should start off by saying that I love physics and astronomy. I would absolutely love to work in the astrophysics field. Unfortunately, I didn't realize how much I liked it until after I had gotten out of college.

When I graduated high school, money was extremely tight, so I wasn't able to go to a university. I ended up going to and graduating from Ranken Technical College, with an associate's degree in control systems technology. Basically, it's a degree in the maintenance and creation of industrial automation systems. After graduating, I got a job outside of that field as a database administrator for a marketing company, which is where I'm still at today.

I'm wanting to go back to school. Possibly switch careers. It looks like my current associate's will transfer in and allow me to only have to take my core classes, which will be great. If I want to get into astrophysics, should I go ahead and major in that, or would it be better to get a BS in physics and then specialize in astrophysics later?

Also, how far could I realistically take this? I can take night classes to get my undergrad, no problem. I don't really have the option to pick and choose my undergrad school though, due to having to keep working full time here (I'll be going to University of St. Louis, in Missouri). I'm also not sure how, if it can even be done, I'd be able to get into/fit in grad school later on.

Any advice for a career change like this? It's just all very overwhelming right now.

Physics news on Phys.org