Is Quitting Grad School Over a Research Setback Justifiable?

In summary, the conversation is about a graduate student who has been working on a research problem for 3 months. They thought they had solved the problem and wrote up a manuscript but later found an error that cannot be fixed. This has caused them to feel frustrated and doubtful about continuing graduate school. Others in the conversation reassure them that making mistakes is a normal part of the learning process and offer their own experiences with similar situations. The student comes to the realization that they need to be more organized and careful in their work and that making mistakes does not make them stupid. The conversation ends with the reminder that even the brightest people make mistakes and it's important to learn from them.
hanson
Hi all..
I am now a first-year graduate student in engineering.
I have been working on a research problem for 3 months.
I thought that I have solved the problem recently and wrote up a manuscript and was ready to submit that.
However, suddenly, I found an error with my work and it cannot be fixed. A stupid error I made in the very beginning of the research...
I feel so frustrated and shameful and start to doubt whether i should continue graduate school...

Anyone has similar experience to share..?

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to the club.

Move on, there is nothing to see.

I agree, this isn't all that uncommon.

You can't expect all research to go perfectly - especially when you're still a student. Also, the error could not have been that stupid, otherwise your supervisor should have picked up on it as soon as he/she saw it. Be glad that you found the error now and not, say, on the night before your defence.

Choppy said:
I agree, this isn't all that uncommon.