Is Project Lead the Way a Good Foundation for Engineering in College?

In summary: The only downside is that the curriculum changes a lot, so you may not have the same experience as someone who has taken the class before. In summary, this is a great program that can help you get into any engineering program.
gawrys111
Hello, This is my first time posting here. My HS has a Project Lead the Way sequence. I am currently enrolled in Honors Drawing & Design for Production, I am considering taking the rest which are Computer Integrated Manufacturing, Digital Electronics, Principles Of Engineering and Engineering Design & Development. If i take all of these will they give me a good foundation in enginnering if i go on and continue to study this in college?

Physics news on Phys.org
This is the first time I've even heard of PLTW, and I know nothing about it besides what's on their web site, but those courses do look fairly substantial. Several universities award credit for some of their courses based on PLTW work:

http://www.pltw.org/curriculum/recognition-and-college-credit.html

So I'd say that even if you end up going somewhere that doesn't grant credit for PLTW courses, they'd probably help you get through the intro engineering courses.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hey there gawrys111.