Is my Schedule too Much to Handle with Work Study?

In summary: I don't think they will be insurmountable. I think if he pushes himself and does well in his classes, he will be able to handle the workload.
sheldonrocks97
Gold Member
Hello,

I'm an incoming freshman EE major at a small engineering university and I need to have an on campus job to pay for personal expenses. Tuition, Fees, and Room and Board will all be paid for, but I still need to get a campus job for personal expenses.

I was just wondering if my schedule combined with 10 hours of work study will be too stressful for my first semester. I have already taken many college classes in high school so I know how much it takes to succeed in college, so I'm prepared, but I don't want my first semester at university to be too stressful.

Here is my schedule:

MATH 335 Differential Equations (3)
PHYS 122 and Lab (5)
EE 101 Intro to Electrical Engineering (2)
EE 252 Mathematical Engineering (4)
MENG 189 Robotics (1)

Total: 15 credit hours

Do you think I can handle it or am I just being paranoid? I've never had a job before so I'm a little nervous.

Thanks for the help!

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
There will be absolutely no social life what so ever. It is possible if your work study is no more then 10 hours a week. I would withdrawal from one class if it does not effect your scholarship/student aid or eligibility for programs you are enrolled in.

Hopefully your work study is in the stem field tutoring others, so the job isn't really a job but more of studying.

Honestly, it looks like a normal schedule and work load to me. 10 hours working is not much and you have 15 credit hours of course load which is fairly normal but slightly high.

To be frank, it doesn't seem that bad. It seems rather typical. And plus since you've taken college courses before, you'll now what to expect and what's required of you.