Is It Financially Feasible to Pursue a Physics Master's Degree in the US?

In summary, it is financially feasible to study for a masters in the US, but there are steep international student fees and limited scholarships available. A typical Physics masters takes 1-2 years, depending on the school. However, one option is to enroll in a PhD program and stop after receiving a masters, as PhD students often receive full scholarships and a yearly stipend in exchange for minimal duties. This support is typically available from the beginning, but it may be difficult to get accepted into a PhD program with only a 3-year BSc degree.
USI
I'm in my 2nd year of a 3year BSc Physics course in the UK. I was wondering whether it would be financially faesible to study for a masters in the US? What sort of financial support is available and how many years does a typical Physics masters take?

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
USI said:
I was wondering whether it would be financially feasible to study for a masters in the US? What sort of financial support is available and how many years does a typical Physics masters take?
Depends on the school, but even the public ones have stiff international student fees. There's very little in the way of scholarships or fellowships for masters work, as most of them are geared towards phd candidates, and the few that aren't tend to require US citizenship. Research the schools you want to go to, and do some searches, but look locally too. A masters in physics takes about 1-2 years, depending on the school.

story645 said:
Depends on the school, but even the public ones have stiff international student fees. There's very little in the way of scholarships or fellowships for masters work, as most of them are geared towards phd candidates, and the few that aren't tend to require US citizenship. Research the schools you want to go to, and do some searches, but look locally too. A masters in physics takes about 1-2 years, depending on the school.