Is a Passion for Science Inherent or Constructed?

In summary, a new undergraduate physics student is feeling disillusioned with the subject as it is taught in university, finding it formulaic and artificial compared to the popular literature that sparked their initial passion for science. They are seeking advice on how to regain their interest and passion for physics, with suggestions including starting with professional papers on specific topics and remembering that the basics are necessary for advanced research. Other students who have gone on to get a PhD in physics have also shared their experiences and emphasized the importance of learning the basics before delving into research.
sagan
Hi, I'm new to the forums and looking for a bit of advice on things. I am an undergraduate studying physics about to finish up what I suppose most would call the sophomore year. However I look back on what I have done and realize that the passion that brought me into science as a kid, by reading the popular books about cosmology and the like simply isn't there when dealing with the everyday problems an undergraduate is asked to solve.

I always imagined myself studying late into the night on various parts of physics working to solve interesting problems I had come up with from building of the basics from textbooks and class. But, really physics as presented at university, thus far at least as seem so formulaic and artificial. I dread doing the next problem set of irrelevant and uninterest problems dealing with situations that don't really exist in the real world, just so we can plug in number to formulas and receive a grade for doing so.