Internship at the Perimeter Institute

In summary, I think PI is a great place for an undergraduate to intern, but you would have to make a great impression on someone to get in.
IRobot
Hi, I am currently studying fundamental physics at University Paris 6 as an undergraduate (accomplishing my 4th year). I have to make an intership for 3months next summer, and I would like to it in theoretical physics (already did one in an experimental lab and i would like to see the other side)

So, recently i have seen a documentary on bbc about cosmology, in which most of the speakers where from PI. It sounds mindless but I really enjoyed the atmosphere of the place; and would love to go there meet interesting people and learn physics. So my point is: do they accept undergraduate students for internship? I looked for this information on their site but beside summer schools, haven't found anything.

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm pretty sure they don't take undergrads for internships. I'm not saying they won't, but you would have to make a fantastic impression on someone to get in there.

I believe that they might possibly take internships from the University of Waterloo, which is affiliated with Perimeter Institute. Yes, PI is a fantastic place considering their research capacity will double with its new, magnificent expansion.

Last edited:
How can you enjoy the atmosphere of a place when you've never been to perimeter instutute at all? This doesn't make sense. Unless i misread and you've actually been to PI instead of watching it in a documentary, you have not experienced the atmosphere.

Like this http://www.perimeterinstitute.ca/Scientific/Applications/Undergraduate/ ?

I wanted to apply last year but didn't like any of their available topics.

less LQG more string next time plx

I'm surprised, I thought superstring theory would displace LQG in research opportunities, this is probably due to Lee Smolin and superstring theory's lack of progress in the last few years.