Interested in the science itself more than its applications

In summary, the conversation discusses the narrator's dilemma of whether to switch their major from engineering to physics. They express a greater interest in the science behind their studies rather than its practical applications. However, the other person advises against switching majors and suggests trying out grad school in engineering instead. They also mention that the grass may seem greener on the other side but it's best to stick with their current track. They also mention the potential job opportunities with an engineering degree.
Anonymous579
Hello,
I will begin my junior year in MechE next fall. So far it's been an enjoyable degree and experience. the problem is, I tend to be more interested in the science itself of what I'm studying, rather than its applications. Which makes me sometimes think that I should have majored in a science degree instead (physics). So do you think I should switch major? Or would grad school in engineering be satisfying? I'm going to grad school either way though. Additionally, is it possible/ plausible to get my engineering degree and then get a graduate degree in something like applied physics (specializing in topics covered under my ME degree)?

Physics news on Phys.org
Don't switch is my opinion.

What I've felt like has changed a lot through the 4 years of my undergrad & subsequently in the 5 years of grad school.

I've concluded that you'll find things to like & not like no matter what major or research adviser etc you choose. Ergo, it's best to suppress that impulse to switch.

I'd wager that grad school will be satisfying for you in your current track. Try it out.

PS. The grass always looks greener in the other pasture. My speculation is, in an alternate universe, had you majored in Physics you'd likely have been frustrated in the other direction "What sort of abstract, mathematical manipulations are these guys doing!"