Interested in PhD but no research experience

In summary, the individual has a BSEE degree and has been working in the electronics field for a year before deciding to take a break and pursue a PhD in either physics or EE. However, they lack research experience and quality letters of recommendation. They are considering taking classes as a non-degree seeking student to gain current recommendations and improve their chances of getting into a better PhD program. They also discuss their concerns about the timing and feasibility of pursuing an MS degree. Another individual shares their personal experience with a similar situation and advises that taking a class as a non-degree student may be effective in improving chances of admission to a graduate program. They also mention that applying to top universities may be difficult with a gap in education or work experience, but there are
jtf
Hello all,

I'm interested in any advice anyone can offer me. I graduated with a BSEE a few years ago and then worked in an electronics role for a little over a year. I saved enough money while working to quit my job, travel for awhile, and ponder my future. Even while working, I felt the pull to return to school. Since then, during my time away from the real world, I've decided I'd like to return to pursue a PhD in either physics or EE. I've been self-studying to brush up on some rusty theory, but my bigger problem is I lack research experience. I did well in school but I only have the grades to show for it. I also lack quality letters of recommendation. For this, I was thinking about taking a class or two as a non-degree seeking student to hopefully get current recommendations.

Couple questions...do you think the fact that I haven't worked or been in school for a couple years will be a major obstacle for admission to graduate school? Am I better off applying to lesser known PhD programs or first paying my way through an MSc to gain research experience?

Thanks for your time!