Interested in hydrology/hydrogeology. What do I do next?

• Thread starter intelart
  • Start date
In summary, the individual is a college sophomore who has changed their major from Music to Physics. They plan on assisting a professor with research in acoustics in the fall and are interested in exploring the fields of hydrology and hydrogeology. They have done online research and found potential research programs to apply for, but want to wait until they have more physics coursework completed. They are seeking recommendations for an introductory book or job shadowing opportunities to explore the field of hydrology before pursuing a Master's degree. The individual also asks about funding for hydrology graduate students and the likelihood of receiving an assistantship instead of taking out loans. The responder suggests looking into the geology department and speaking with a professor about research opportunities, and mentions that funding
intelart
I am a college sophomore who has recently changed her major from Music to Physics.I'm planning on helping a professor with his research in acoustics in the fall. Right now, I want to at least explore the fields of hydrology and hydrogeology, but I don't know where to start.

My college has an environmental science program. While it does have a few geology classes and the major has a good dose of science, I'm not sure if they would know what to do with a physics major. I've already done plenty of online research (ie. Google) and found some research programs I could apply for, but I want to wait a year until I have some more physics coursework under my belt.

So if anyone can recommend a good introductory book, or places to look for job shadowing, or any other way, I can explore this field before I go off to get a Master's?

P.S. How is funding for hydrology grad students? Do students usually get some sort of assistantship or am I likely looking at more loans?

Physics news on Phys.org