I feel bad I can't understand the most simple of algebra

• Thread starter BadFish
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Algebra
In summary, the speaker struggled with math in middle school but improved in high school and received an award for their grades. They graduated from a charter school and have been taking a break, but have started training in basic computer skills and have an upcoming internship. They plan to get a job and study math and engineering in the future. They have attempted to learn factoring on their own, but are struggling with it.
BadFish

Homework Statement

First, let me tell you a bit about myself. I did not do well in geometry and math in middle school, I was terrible at it. At high school, something changed and I took Algebra I. I was getting B's to high A's. I got awarded the rotary club award for student of the month, because of my grades at the time. I had a lot of problems in school with learning problems, so I decided to graduate from a charter school. I graduated and have been taking a long break, many years, I'd say at least 4 or 5 persuing other interests. I recently started some training in basic computer skills such as excel, powerpoint and word and am starting my internship this monday, 10 weeks, 2 hours a day, 2 days a week. After that I plan to get a job with basic clerical computer work, and study and go to college on the side with a pale grant. I have always enjoyed math immensly, and I got the book "calculus for dummies" and read it from cover to cover. The main thing was I could not do most of it like basic limits because I never learned how to factor.