How to walk my PI through a paper

In summary, the speaker is an undergraduate involved in a research project with their advisor, who has asked them to walk through a 24-page journal article with a postdoc collaborator. The speaker previously attempted to summarize a shorter article but was advised by their PI to focus on telling the story behind the paper. They are seeking advice on how to prepare for this talk as they get nervous when speaking. The speaker ended up creating slides with speaker notes and received praise for their presentation.
yeshuamo
I'm an undergraduate involved in a research project. My advisor is a faculty member who has requested that I walk him and our postdoc collaborator through a paper that is relevant to our project; it's a 24-page in-depth journal article.

I made an attempt at walking them through a shorter article last week, but the PI said that I needed to work on better telling the story behind the paper instead of summarizing it.

Have you had to develop the skill of walking your superiors through research that you didn't conduct? Can you offer advice on preparing this talk?

I should note that I get nervous when speaking, so my memory isn't my best friend when I'm talking.

Thank you for your tips.

Physics news on Phys.org
My impression is he/she is trying to help you. The skills in your story are indeed very useful in almost any career, so any investment is well made. Try to talk to him/her about your quandary (at least you don't have eto rely on your memory for that) and try to find out this motivation.

Likes yeshuamo
Thank you. I ended up preparing slides that I handed out and added speaker notes to my copy. Added an intro slide putting the paper in context of other research and concluded with takeaways relevant for our project. It was received with praise, so mission accomplished!

Bravo !

Related to How to walk my PI through a paper

1. How do I explain the purpose of the paper to my PI?