How to train for USAPhO and IPhO

• Studying
  • Thread starter Suhaas Bhat
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Ipho Train
In summary, the person is a high school student preparing for the IPhO and has been recommended to use Resnick and Halliday for learning physics. However, they are having trouble applying this knowledge to solve USAPhO problems and are seeking advice on how to bridge the gap. They also have questions about the level of calculus required for these competitions and whether other math topics need to be learned. Another suggestion is to use books like Irodov, Kleppner and Kolenkow, Marion Thorthon, and Purcell.
Suhaas Bhat
Hi, I am a freshman in high school (going into sophomore next September) and am trying to prepare for the IPhO. I was recommended to use Resnick and Halliday to learn the physics, and am currently doing that. However, I am still unable to solve USAPhO problems in areas that I have covered in Resnick and Halliday. How should I bridge the gap between Resnick and Halliday problems to USAPhO problems so that I am able to solve the harder USAPhO and IPhO problems? Also, how much calculus do I have to know for the USAPhO and IPhO? I am taking Calc BC next year, but I do not know if that is enough. Is there other math that I must learn?

Thanks,
Suhaas

Physics news on Phys.org
Suhaas Bhat said:
Hi, I am a freshman in high school (going into sophomore next September) and am trying to prepare for the IPhO. I was recommended to use Resnick and Halliday to learn the physics, and am currently doing that. However, I am still unable to solve USAPhO problems in areas that I have covered in Resnick and Halliday. How should I bridge the gap between Resnick and Halliday problems to USAPhO problems so that I am able to solve the harder USAPhO and IPhO problems? Also, how much calculus do I have to know for the USAPhO and IPhO? I am taking Calc BC next year, but I do not know if that is enough. Is there other math that I must learn?

Thanks,
Suhaas