How Should I Continue Learning Physics After My Formal Education Ends?

• Thread starter jean28
  • Start date
In summary, the individual is studying computer engineering and has found a passion for physics through their studies of classical mechanics, electromagnetism, optics, and modern physics. They are considering continuing to study physics independently and are seeking advice on where to start and what books to use. Suggestions include using a university physics textbook and then moving on to undergraduate texts in specific topics such as quantum mechanics. It is recommended to also study special relativity and familiarize oneself with the integral version of Maxwell's laws. Recommended books include Griffiths' Electrodynamics and Quantum Mechanics, as well as Dirac's Principles of Quantum Mechanics. It is also suggested to review classical wave equations and solutions before starting on more abstract concepts in quantum mechanics.
jean28
I'm studying computer engineering which requires me to take the fundamentals concepts of physics (classical mechanics, electromagnetism, optics, and a bit of modern physics). I have truly found a passion for physics throughout my studies of these topics, although unfortunately I don't have to take any more physics after I finish with optics.

I was thinking that I should continue studying physics independently (maybe as a hobby, just to keep feeding my curiosity). However, I don't know where to start. What should be the order of physics that I should take next? What good books would you guys recommend me to buy for them?

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
A university physics textbook (eg. Serway or Young & Freedman) would be good since your course only covers the fundamental concepts. Then, you can move on to undergraduate texts in classical mechanics, quantum mechanics, electromagnetism, thermodynamics etc.