How difficult is Aerospace Engineering

In summary, the course work is hard but it is manageable if you have a passion for aircrafts. Aerospace is more competitive but if you have the drive and passion, you can overcome it.
navier1120
I am considering going to graduate school for either ME or AERO. I know that I could handle ME considering it is what I got my degree in. I know that ME and AERO are similar but how competitive is AERO and how difficult is the course work?

I am a good student.

3.11 from a tough school
1230 gre, 740 Q 490 V

Physics news on Phys.org
It's hard work just like any other Engineering course. Although I have HEARD it's a little more "rigorous". If you have a passion for aircrafts then you will get through it.

I'd say aerospace is more competitive, but only because it's a more specialized discipline than mechanical (by far). You have to sell yourself as a mechanical engineer, and sometimes that can be a little difficult if you encounter that numbskull who doesn't realize how similar the two disciplines are.

As for difficult, I guess it depends on what subjects you find challenging. I can't speak for mechanical, but aerospace certainly treats certain topics with greater depth (fluid mechanics, for instance, given how fundamental it is to the discipline). Whether that's balanced out by greater depth in other fields (for instance, thermodynamics) or whether mechanical is designed as a 'jack-of-all-trades' discipline is beyond my advice.

That having been said... seriously, you're picking grad school fields based on your perceived ability to pass the class or not? That's it? Maybe you should reconsider grad school. And when I mean reconsider, I don't mean "get out now", I mean seriously just step back for a second and ask why you want to go, and how driven you are towards completing your grad school degree.

hey guys..