How can I accurately plot the Bragg curve for alpha particles?

In summary, the program you used to plot the Bragg curve was called "curve expert 1.3" and it was a free share ware you could find it on the internet. You integrate the Bethe-Bloch equation to plot the energy loss vs penetration energy for various particles.
Ciolla
Goodmorning everyone, I'm new to this forum!
I'm graduing in physics in Italy, and I have this problem.
I want use root to plot the Bragg curve for different kinds of particles, with different initial conditions. the problem is, which function have I to plot?

http://www.med.harvard.edu/JPNM/physics/nmltd/radprin/sect7/7.1/bragg.GIF

the Beth Bloch formula? how can I make it "x dependent", where x is the penetration depth?

sorry for my english, and my silly question..
I hope you'll help me!
thanks a lot!

Physics news on Phys.org
I've never seen this function before, although I've been studying physics for 6 years. Please try to explain in what subject this is studied.

I can give a way to determine such a function, but you'll have to work a little.

Get some program for curve fitting like "curve expert 1.3", it's a free share ware you can find it on the internet for free, and then pick up some points in the function, and try to interpolate it.

Then, the program would interpolate so many functions, try to integrate the best one that fits or the one that makes sense to you (indefinite integral), and then determine the constant by some condition you have for T.

Good luck :)

uhu.. so complicated?
i try to explain a little more..
i'm studying Hadrontherapy, i.e. the use of light ions or protons against tumors. this kind of particles are characterized by a particular form of loosing-energy curve. as you se here
http://www.gsi.de/forschung/bio/e-deposition_small.jpg
the advantage is that they loose energy manily at a particular depth. leaving the healty tissue untouched.