How can a MechE look good for green engineering?

In summary: It is up to the individual what they want to do. A more physical background would be good for jobs in renewable energy such as wind or solar. A more chemical background would be good for jobs in alternative energy such as developing new batteries or creating new ways to treat water.
jaden44
im currently a freshman majoring in ME, and in the future want to
work with (dont know specifically what yet) renewable energy, designing
more efficient energy-harvesting systems, etc. but, i know there are
tons of kids in my generation aspiring to do the same. is there a
specific minor that you know of that can set me apart, or anything
i should be doing extra-curricularly (if that's a word) to make me a
more desirable ME in this field?
at first i thought environmental engineering was for me, but my
advisor told me that that was more dealing with water and air
treatment, waste management, etc.
any thoughts or ideas?
thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
There is a lot of work for MEs trying to make current systems such as engines, refrigerators, heat pumps more efficient or even developing new systems. There is also a lot for MEs in solar, wind, geothermal... MEs can do a lot of different things so with a good ME degree it shouldn't be hard to find something you like. As far as things that will look good I guess it depends on what you want to do. If you are interested in grad school/research then start finding professors at your school who do research in these areas and try to work with them. If you are more interested in getting a job after undergrad then research is still great for the hands on experience but there are also probably some clubs at your school related to the environment that you could look into, or you could start your own club, or do a co-op with a company that works on energy.

RandomGuy88 said: