Horizontal Noise Stripes in an Image

In summary: If it is due...The effect is like turning the exposure up and down at 60Hz. Maybe you can identify the frequency and then apply fluctuating gain to the image. In other words, multiply the samples by a 60Hz correction signal. This is different to just subtracting the ripple as an interferer, which will create artifacts. The fluorescent light ripple actually modulates the image .The fluorescent light ripple actually modulates the image .How does this modulates the image?And is it only explicit on the exposure, and is unrelated to diffraction patterns?During the exposure of the frame, the lighting of the scene is going up and down at mains frequency due to the lighting (actually at twice the
Physics news on Phys.org
ecastro said:
What are the possible causes of the horizontal noise stripes in this image:

http://dsp.stackexchange.com/questi...odic-noise-from-image-using-fourier-transform

I'm currently studying on these kinds of noise, and how to eliminate them. Can these be caused by diffraction?

Thank you in advance.
The effect is like turning the exposure up and down at 60Hz. Maybe you can identify the frequency and then apply fluctuating gain to the image. In other words, multiply the samples by a 60Hz correction signal. This is different to just subtracting the ripple as an interferer, which will create artifacts. The fluorescent light ripple actually modulates the image .

Likes blue_leaf77
tech99 said:
The fluorescent light ripple actually modulates the image .

How does this modulates the image?

And is it only explicit on the exposure, and is unrelated to diffraction patterns?

ecastro said:
How does this modulates the image?

And is it only explicit on the exposure, and is unrelated to diffraction patterns?