HHMI Research Scholars Opportunity

• Thread starter plife
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Research
In summary, the author decided to take the research job offered by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. This offer will delay their graduation, but the opportunity is really unique and they are excited about it. They are conflicted because they have set up a schedule for taking classes and taking units in order to graduate in a timely manner, but they also want to explore this new opportunity. They are unsure if they should focus on their studies or take the opportunity.
plife
Hello, everyone.

I am an undergrad physics major - returned to school after many years, in case you had forgotten *_*

It is almost Fall and time to start a new semester. I was all set to take a pretty full load of Chemistry, Computational Physics, Physics, Math, and Philosophy classes starting next week. Then, I received a letter from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute offering me an opportunity to get paid to work in research at my university - 10 hours a week during the semesters and full-time during the summer - for 2 years culminating in a published paper and/or conference presentation. I have been talking to faculty about different projects and different lab environments all over school, including electrochemistry, biophysics, neutron/x-ray diffraction, biology, accelerator technology, laser stuff...all sorts of exciting projects are available!

My problem is that I had set up a schedule of taking lots of units each semester and taking classes in the summer in order to graduate in a timely manner. Taking this research opportunity will definitely delay that - or my worst fear - cause a serious ding to my current 4.0 GPA (either of which would make me quite sad, but probably not kill me).