Help with average velocity during a time interval

In summary, the conversation discussed calculating the average velocity of a moving particle using the given position equation and the concept of average velocity as total displacement over total time. The correct method was determined to be substituting values into the given equation and the derivative method was confirmed to be used for finding instantaneous velocity. The concept of constant acceleration was also mentioned and its relation to finding average velocity using the alternate method.
dealdoe22

Homework Statement

The position of a particle in meters moving along the x-axis is given by: x=21+22t-6t^2
Calculate the average velocity of the object in m/s during the time interval t=1s to t=3s.

Homework Equations

x=21+22t-6t^2
t=3 ; t=1
v avg. = Xf - Xi/Tf - Ti = Δx/Δt

don't know if this applies but:
instantaneous velocity = dx/dt = -12t+22

The Attempt at a Solution

Hello all. I am a returning student with a Major in Civil Engineering. At the age of 35, it is difficult to remember sometimes what the simple answers are. I know this may seem elementary to some of you but I believe I am over thinking this question. Please help.

My question is which answer is correct for the question asked?
I attempted this 2 different ways and can't decide if one of them is correct or if either of them are correct.

substituting:
x=21+22(3)-6(3)^2
x=33m
x=21+22(1)-6(1)^2
x=37m

then 33-37/3-1 = -2 m/s for velocity avg.
speed = absolute value of velocity = 2 m/s

or

I took the derivative of the initial equation and then substituted to get:
v=-12t+22
v=-12(3)+22=-14
v=-12(1)+22=10

then -14-10/3-1=-12m/s = 12m/s

Any help would be great. Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org