Guide to Programming Languages: Beginner's Path

In summary, the person is asking for guidance on what programming languages to learn as a first year computer science engineering student. They mention being familiar with C and C++ and being interested in Java. They receive advice that Java is a practical and widely used language, but may be more difficult to grasp due to its strong focus on object-oriented programming. They are advised to only pursue Java if they are truly interested in learning it.
Compengg
Guide me !

hi frnds,
i am doing my computer science engineering in India and i am in 1st year.I am interested to learn some languages as i am interested in programming.Can u people please guide me .:confused:

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org

What languages are you interested in learning?

noblegas said:
What languages are you interested in learning?
as i am in 1st year only C nd C++ are the languages i am known and i am inetrested in and some of my friends have suggested me to do java??what about it

Compengg said:
as i am in 1st year only C nd C++ are the languages i am known and i am inetrested in and some of my friends have suggested me to do java??what about it

It'd be practical to learn 'cause it's one of the most used languages in industry (as is COBOL, but nobody teaches that anymore), and it's interesting. Basic Java has very similar syntax to C++ and a lot of the same rules, but it's much more strongly object oriented, so if you don't understand OOP (object oriented programming) you've got to wrap your head around it while learning java to be good at it. After you learn the basics, Java gets tricky. More complex Java is full of templates and libraries and you've got to get really good at using both.

story645 said: