GRE review course-is it worth it or not?

• Courses
  • Thread starter Fellowroot
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Gre Review
In summary, the GRE is not important enough to warrant so much money and it is a relatively unimportant for graduate school applications. Assuming you can get above 50% in english and 80% in math, you don't need to worry. There are review books and materials online that should be plenty if you study them.
Fellowroot
I'm nearing the end of my degree with only 3 required courses to take to finish my undergrad with a possible 1 extra class if I do my research with this one professor, who I really connect with.

Anyway, this whole grad school process is completely new to me and is a process that I've never done before.

So I don't know exactly when I'm going to be graduating but I know that I have to take the GRE. There is a review course at my school that I can take but I'm wondering if its worth it or not.

The course is 4 Saturday's 9:00-12:00 which costs $349.00 USD

Has anyone taken the GRE review course, what was your experience like?

Was it worth your time and money?

Did it help you or not help you on the actual GRE exam?

Physics news on Phys.org
It is absolutely not worth it.

Jorriss said:
It is absolutely not worth it.

What makes it not worth it?

The GRE is not important enough to warrant so much money. The GRE is a relatively unimportant for graduate school applications. Assuming you can get above 50% in english and 80% in math, you don't need to worry. There are review books and materials online that should be plenty if you study them.

I assume you mean the general GRE though.

Jorriss said:
The GRE is not important enough to warrant so much money. The GRE is a relatively unimportant for graduate school applications. Assuming you can get above 50% in english and 80% in math, you don't need to worry. There are review books and materials online that should be plenty if you study them.

I assume you mean the general GRE though.