Graduate schools in quantum information theory in US and UK

In summary, an undergraduate majoring in maths or physics from a US university is taking a year abroad at the University of Bristol in the UK. After this academic year, they will go back to their home university to finish their degree. The quantum information (QI) researches at the department of mathematics at the University of Bristol is quite inter-disciplinary and interesting to the student, so they talked to a QI professor here. The QI professor told the student that he prefers a student to be comfortable with high-level maths, and that the student should choose carefully which theoretical courses they are going to take before graduating. The student is not considering taking experimental physics courses because they think it's risky to try to be a jack of all trades
Truecrimson
Hi. I'm an undergrad majoring in maths/physics from a US university now taking a year abroad at university of Bristol (UOB) in UK. After this academic year, I'll go back to study in my home university for a year and then graduate. The quantum information (QI) researches at the department of mathematics at UOB is quite inter-disciplinary and very interesting to me. So I talked with a QI professors here and he told me that he prefers a student to be comfortable with high-level maths and that I should choose carefully which theoretical courses I'm going to take before I graduate.

Now, even though I'm technically a math major, I planned to graduate with a minimum number of math courses that I thought useful for physics, because virtually any physics professor at my home university encourage me to do lab researches rather than taking math courses. But I'm perfectly fine with taking theoretical math courses. I enjoy them a lot. In fact, because of what the QI professor said, now I have a practical motivation to take those courses other than just for fun.